A short history of Cooper's Mill and how to get there
Cooper's Mill is one Mandurah's little treasures. It has a long and rich history and can only be accessed by boat. If don't have boat but would like to have a look at the Mill - head to the Caltex in North Yunderup on Pinjarra Road and turn into Tonkin Drive. Follow Tonkin Drive until it becomes a dirt road (see map below). Cooper's Mill is at the end of Tonkin and the dirt road. Be warned though, the road is very bumpy - a 4WD would probably be the most suitable vehicle for this adventure!
According to the Mandurah Community Museum Fact Sheet on Cooper's Mill:
Cooper’s Mill is only accessible by boat and is situated on the extreme north western end of Cooleenup Island, part of the Murray Delta where it enters the Peel Inlet. Joseph Cooper began building the mill in the 1840s but died before he could see its completion.
The Mill was used by wheat farmers who would otherwise have to mill their grain by hand. After the Mill closed down it became the home of ‘Old Martin’ the White Russian who was believed to have a metal plate in his head because of injuries sustained during the First World War. He was paranoid and lived in the top part of the mill, pulling the rope up after him so that nobody could get him. In 1930 he was forced to move into Mandurah when the mill was being renovated.
If you would like to know more about Cooper's Mill the Mandurah Community Museum have many Fact Sheets on sites, buildings and stories of interest on their webpage. Click here to visit this page.