Ordinary Council Election Candidates Drawn

Nominations for the 2015 Ordinary Council Elections have now closed with nine candidates nominating to fill the four council vacancies for the Shire of Murray. 

Candidates for the Shire of Murray’s 2015 Ordinary Council Election in ballot order are:

  • Casey Rose, Coolup
  • Angela Rogers, Coolup
  • Morris Bessant, Furnissdale
  • George Franklin, Dwellingup
  • Brenda Beacham, North Dandalup
  • Barrie Thompson, Ravenswood
  • Steve Lee, Ravenswood
  • Enzo Menara, Coolup
  • David Bolt, South Yunderup 

A draw was recently undertaken by a Returning Officer from the Western Australian Electoral Commission at the Shire Administration Office to determine the candidate ballot order. 

The Ordinary Local Government Election is fast approaching on Saturday 17 October, 2015. 

“The Shire of Murray strongly encourages residents to have their say and to vote for the candidate which they feel represents them best as a Shire of Murray Councillor. 

“While local government voting is not compulsory, residents have the power to determine the future of their local community by simply casting their vote,” said Shire President Cr. Wally Barrett.    

Murray residents will receive their ballot packages from 28 September, 2015. To lodge your ballot via post simply complete and sign the enclosed ballot paper and return to the Western Australian Electoral Commission using the reply paid envelope provided. 

Alternatively, residents can lodge their ballots at the Shire of Murray Administration Office onElection Day. 

Replacement ballot packages can be obtained from the Shire’s Administration Office if your package has been damaged. If you have not received a package please contact the Shire. 

For more information regarding the upcoming local government election visit the Shire’s website www.murray.wa.gov.au or phone (08) 9531 7777.